Posted by: amica | November 24, 2009

Too True Tuesday

Ok, so I’ve decided to jump in this round of Too True Tuesday and Essie says todays’ topic is:

So the subject of this weeks TTT is, your least favorite holiday and why. And just for fun and balance, your favorite holiday and why.

Well, I would have to say that any of the holidays that require forced gatherings with people you happen to be related to have never been on my “Favorite Holiday List.” Although there are some wonderful people who I am proud to call family, there are also some that are not…nice. Growing up, Thanksgiving and Christmas times were not pleasant. My parents were always stressed and fighting, and there was usually a long drive filled with smart remarks and snarling shared among my parents, sister, and I. Then we would arrive at a relative’s home where we would all jump out of the car laughing and hugging everyone and ohhh and ahhhh and it.was.so.fake. The cousins were there and we were supposed to play together and leave the adults alone which was fine except some of my cousins were not….nice. After many hours of boredom and irritation, we loaded back up into the car, and listened to the complaints of everyone’s behaviors and idle gossip. I always looked forward to the gossip part.

Now that I am an adult and have children, it is different. The gatherings are much smaller and I like all the people there. We’ve all learned how to get along much better and the stress really isn’t there. The food is good, I don’t have to cook for almost a week after, and work is always a big lighter during the holiday season.

I would have to  say my favorite holiday has always been Christmas (minus that whole family gathering part). The build up is amazing and I don’t even live where there is snow. But that is the one holiday I can feel.  The smell of the smoking chimneys, the sound of the music, the Salvation Army bells at Wal*Mart, hot cocoa, school’s out, etc. Now that I am a mom, it is even more fun!  Teaching my kids about the true meaning of Christmas, their excitement, their anticipation, I love it!

What a great ride!

Responses

  1. OMG I know exactly what you mean about sitting in the car snapping and snarling at each other. Then you get out of the car and go in and hug and kiss kiss and make nice and those people all suck!
    I am liking Christmas so much more with the kids. It really is fun doing Santa. There is still a smudge by our fireplace where Santa’s reighndeer (sp?) left a bit of a mess coming in. LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

