Posted by: amica | April 7, 2009

Uncertainty

I was so excited last night – M asked for cuddle time!  It was nice and we laughed and I was left feeling so great about it.  He also has been in a good mood, not easily frustrated, and actually being sorta nice to his sister. I knew it was too soon to say wow! he’s changing.  Still the thought that he was trying was so great.  THEN.  I was doing laundry after the kids went to bed and I stopped to use their bathroom.  I found my notebook where I had taken all my notes from the Nancy Thomas DVDs and book.  He took it from my room and read it.  I don’t know how to feel or if it even means anything.  I feel betrayed, like his recent change is all fake but I don’t know. I don’t know.

Responses

  1. How frustrating… Maybe he’s just looking for information about himself? I know that’s not an excuse for invading your privacy and reading your notebook without permission though. I’m sure there will be many ups and downs as this process unfolds…

  2. Hi. Welcome to the rollercoaster that is our lives as parents with RAD kids. I am so glad you are blogging. You can do this. You have a plan and you will need to change it from time to time or day to day but you have a good plan to start. That makes a difference. The changes you are making are hard ones but they are on the right track. Lisa (Grateful House) directed me over here and I am glad she did. We are here for you if you need us. I wanted to say congratulations on firing the therapist. I cannot stress how important it is for you to be in that room. One thing I also wanted to say is your description of your kids reminds me of mine, especially M. I have some thoughts on the cuddle time with him based on what happens with my now 10 year old son, if you are interested. Anyway, I look forward to hearing more and just wanted you to know you aren’t alone.
    Best,
    Nelda (aka Dia por Dia)

    • I would love to hear your thoughts! Any help is so appreciated! Thanks a bunch!

  3. Hi- new here, just saying hi! I cant say for sure, but its possible your son saw the book and papers as something so important to you that he wanted to get into it to be part of what you are doing. It is not like swiping money or clean socks. I would take it as a positive, that he wanted to know more about whatever was causing this cuddle time that he enjoyed.
    Good luck!

    • Hi Essie! Welcome and thanks so much for your support. I really need to be reminded that their actions aren’t always negative!


Leave a Reply

Categories

